Best Sumac Alternatives in 2026 for Nonprofits

Best Sumac Alternatives in 2026 for Nonprofits

Last Updated: September 2026

Most people searching for the best Sumac alternatives have just done the arithmetic. Sumac’s published starting price is $179 per month, and that buys case management for 1,000 records. Donations, memberships, volunteers and grant management are each sold as separate add-ons. Reviewers on Capterra report the membership module at roughly $120 per month and pledges and donations at roughly $145, so a nonprofit that needs the full picture lands somewhere between $500 and $600 per month or more. Those module figures are reviewer estimates rather than list prices, because the vendor does not publish them.

The bill alone would not send people looking. The lowest-rated reviews pair it with a second complaint: the modules do not fully share data with each other. Reviewers describe paying per function and still reconciling between functions by hand. This page ranks the platforms worth a call when that is where you have landed, whether you know the product as Sumac, Silent Partner Software or, since the January 2024 rebrand, Societ. It is honest about where Sumac remains the better answer, and you can browse our full list of alternatives to Sumac and other platforms if none of these fit.

Key Takeaways

  • Sumac starts at $179 per month for case management alone. Membership, donations, volunteers and grants are separate add-ons, and reviewers report the full stack reaching $500 to $600 per month or more.
  • Reviewers report that the modules do not fully share data with each other, so paying for more of them does not remove every gap between functions. That structural complaint drives this search more than the price does.
  • Best for one contact record across membership, donations and events at one published price: Raklet. It has no case-management module, and we say so below.
  • Best for a direct functional replacement including case management: CiviCRM, which runs cases, members, gifts and grants on one open-source database.
  • Best for donor CRM depth: Bloomerang or Neon One, both of which are also modular, so price the modules before you compare.
  • Price the whole stack you need, not the base tier, and then scan the comparison table below.

Why organizations look for Sumac alternatives

The complaints below come from Sumac’s reviews on Capterra (4.4 out of 5 across 132 reviews) and G2 (4.2 out of 5 across 25 reviews), and from our own research into the company. Two things are worth saying first, in fairness. Sumac’s support is rated 4.7 out of 5 on Capterra, the highest of its sub-scores, and free live phone support is included on every plan. And its HIPAA and PIPEDA compliance, with a Canadian data hosting option, is a real advantage for human services organizations that most of the platforms below do not match. None of the complaints is about the product breaking.

1. The add-on pricing compounds. The base plan is $179 per month and covers case management with a 1,000-record capacity. Everything else on the vendor’s own add-on list is extra: client intake webforms, e-signature forms, donations, memberships, volunteers, grant management and additional record capacity. The company describes pricing as scaling with the number of users and add-ons you choose.

Reviewers put the membership module at about $120 per month and pledges and donations at about $145, and several describe a total of $500 to $600 per month once a mid-sized nonprofit has what it needs. One Capterra reviewer, writing in April 2023 after a price change, said there were no improvements to the program to go with the increases, and that their organization did not have the staff time to purge a thousand donor records to stay under the new tier.

2. Reviewers say the modules do not talk to each other. This is the structural complaint, and it is the one that makes the first one sting. Low-rated reviews describe sections within the database that do not share data, cross-module gaps that need manual reconciliation, and relationship data missing from exports. In the situation those reviewers describe, a supporter who is a client’s family member, a monthly donor and an event volunteer ends up as three partly disconnected records in three paid modules. Not every customer reports this, and some of it may come down to configuration.

But the reviewers who do report it locate the gap in the product rather than in their setup, and paying for another module does not close it.

3. A steep learning curve and a dated interface. Capterra’s ease-of-use sub-score is 4.2, and the written reviews are blunter: clunky, not especially user friendly, report generation that takes several steps and requires admin access, no auto-save, no spellcheck. Custom fields are also reported to need reconfiguration after platform updates. For organizations where volunteers rotate, the hours spent teaching the system are a recurring cost.

4. No AI features. Nothing has shipped as of this writing. Societ published a blog post about AI in nonprofits in March 2026, but it is thought leadership rather than a product announcement. Bloomerang, Neon One and DonorPerfect all now ship some form of AI writing assistant, so the gap is visible in a side-by-side.

5. Low product velocity on a 30-year-old product. Silent Partner Software was founded in 1995. There is no public versioned changelog, blog posts arrive one or two times a month, and the largest identifiable recent change is the rebrand rather than a feature. That is not a reliability problem. It is a pace problem, and it matters if you are signing up for the next five years.

6. A rebrand and a leadership change in consecutive years. Silent Partner Software became Societ in January 2024, and a new CEO, Ron Spreeuwenberg, arrived in January 2025 from HiMama, a childcare software company. Neither is a complaint, and the company remains privately held with no private-equity owner pushing for an exit. But a new leader from outside the nonprofit CRM market, following a brand repositioning, is a continuity signal worth weighing on a long-term vendor decision. We state it neutrally because that is all the evidence supports.

What to look for in a Sumac alternative

Each criterion below answers one of the complaints above. If a criterion does not map to a problem you actually have, skip it. Sumac’s case-management depth and compliance posture are genuinely hard to replace, and if those are why you bought it, they may still be the reason to keep it.

  • The total cost of every module you actually need. Do not compare base prices. Write down the functions you use today, price each one on each platform, and compare the annual total. Several platforms below are also modular, including two of the best-known donor CRMs, so this exercise can be humbling in both directions.
  • Whether every function reads from one contact record. Ask the vendor to show you a single supporter who is simultaneously a member, a donor and an event attendee, and then ask where you would go to see all three at once. If the answer involves an export, you have found Sumac’s problem again in a new logo.
  • Learning curve for non-technical staff. Get a trial account and hand it to a volunteer for an afternoon. If they cannot record a gift or update a membership without a manual, the platform will cost you training time every year.
  • Product investment pace. Look for a public changelog with dated entries. A platform shipping monthly is a different bet from one whose biggest recent change was a new name.
  • Ownership and leadership continuity. Independent, PE-owned or recently acquired, and how long the current leadership has been in place. There is no right answer, but there is a right question, and it is the one Sumac’s own history raises.
  • Whether you still need case management. Only two platforms on this list have a real case-management module. If client case files are the center of your work, your shortlist is shorter than the one below, and we say which entries qualify.

The Best Sumac Alternatives in 2026

How we evaluated these alternatives

We scored each platform on four dimensions. Pricing transparency: is there a public price grid, and does it include add-ons and fees? Ownership stability: independent, PE-owned, or recently acquired. Product cadence: how often meaningful updates ship. And feature depth for nonprofit CRM and membership work: donor records, memberships, events, case management where it exists, and reporting. Pricing comes from each platform’s published pricing page where one exists, checked in September 2026. Where a vendor does not publish pricing, we show third-party estimate ranges from review-site aggregators and verified customer reports, labeled as estimates in the tables. Sumac’s own module prices are reviewer-reported estimates for exactly that reason. Review scores come from G2 and Capterra, and each platform’s public documentation fills in the rest. No customer quotes from Raklet sales calls appear on this page because none of our recorded calls mention Sumac. Raklet is one of the alternatives reviewed and we list ourselves first because this is our site, so treat the ordering as our opinion rather than a neutral ranking. Where Raklet loses we say so. It has no case-management module. It charges a platform transaction fee on top of the payment processor. And its AI features are on the roadmap rather than shipped, while three platforms below have released theirs.

1. Raklet

Founded 2013 · Privately held · 10+ employees

Raklet is a membership and community platform built on a single CRM, and the single CRM is the point. Every contact record carries custom fields plus a timeline of that person’s memberships, donations, event registrations and emails, so the supporter who is a member, a donor and a volunteer is one record with one history, not three modules that need reconciling. Memberships renew and collect dues automatically, donation forms and campaigns run natively, events ticket and check in with QR codes, and members get a searchable directory and a private community space along with free native iOS and Android apps on every plan.

The organizations that come to us from Sumac are usually the ones whose membership and fundraising work has outgrown a case-management tool, and the first thing they notice is that the functions were never separate to begin with.

Pricing: Permanent free plan for 100 contacts with no credit card, which is a plan and not a trial. Essentials $49/mo on annual billing (500 contacts), Professional $99/mo (1,000 contacts), Premium $399/mo (10,000 contacts, adding API access, SSO and a custom domain). Extra contact packs cost $29/mo per 1,000 rather than forcing a tier jump. Pricing scales on contacts and features together, since each tier also unlocks capabilities, and every figure is published. Raklet charges a platform transaction fee that varies by plan, from 4% on Free down to 1% on Premium, plus $0.60 per charge, and that sits on top of the payment processor’s fee. Compare that against Sumac’s payment terms for your own donation volume before deciding which is cheaper on fees. See Raklet pricing.

Best for: Nonprofits, associations and community organizations whose Sumac bill is mostly the membership, donations and events add-ons, and who want those three on one record at one published price, in the 100 to 10,000 contact range.

Not ideal for: Organizations whose core work is client case management. Raklet has no case-management module, and if intake, case notes, service plans and outcome reporting are the reason you bought Sumac, look at CiviCRM or Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud below instead. Raklet’s AI features are also on the roadmap rather than shipped.

For the direct head-to-head on features, fees and migration, read Sumac vs Raklet.

2. Bloomerang

Founded 2012 · PE-backed (JMI Equity and Warburg Pincus) · 201-500 employees

Bloomerang is the donor-retention specialist. Its central feature is a retention dashboard that scores your relationship with each donor and flags lapsing supporters before they disappear, and it backs that up with wealth screening through DonorSearch inside the CRM, a grant management module, an AI Content Assistant for appeal and email copy shipped in 2024, and behavior-triggered Journey Automation shipped in 2025. It rates 4.7 out of 5 on G2 and product cadence is weekly, which is the opposite end of the spectrum from Sumac. One honest note: Bloomerang also owns Kindful, which it acquired in 2021 and has since folded into the Bloomerang CRM, so you will see Kindful in older roundups as a separate choice. It is not one anymore.

Pricing: Modular, and a Sumac buyer should read that word carefully. The CRM starts at $125/mo billed annually for roughly 1,000 constituents. Fundraising, Volunteer and Membership modules are sold separately on top, and the all-in-one bundle starts at $524/mo. Constituent pricing rises above 1,000 records and needs a custom quote above about 5,000. Online donations processed through Bloomerang Fundraising carry a 1% platform fee plus 2.2% and $0.30 card processing. The difference from Sumac is that the modules share one constituent record and the prices are published. See Bloomerang pricing.

Best for: Organizations whose Sumac frustration is really about fundraising, whose central problem is donor attrition, and who have the budget for a full-stack bill in the same range as Sumac’s.

Not ideal for: Case management, which Bloomerang does not do, or small budgets. If donor depth is what you are shopping for, compare the field in our Bloomerang alternatives roundup.

3. Neon One (Neon CRM)

Founded 2004 · Privately held, parent of CiviCore, Rallybound and Arts People · 150-200 employees

Neon One is the all-in-one option: CRM, fundraising, events, memberships and volunteers under one roof, which the company says serves more than 8,000 nonprofits. It has a real membership module, which most donor CRMs lack, an actively developed API, and it launched an AI assistant branded Gen in beta in late 2025. Of the donor CRMs on this list it is the closest to covering the same breadth Sumac covers once you have bought every Sumac add-on, with the important exception of case management.

Pricing: Three tiers, Essentials $99/mo, Impact $209/mo and Empower $409/mo for nonprofits. Note the meter: Neon prices on your annual revenue, not on record count, which makes it cheaper than record-based tools for large lists and more expensive for small organizations with high income. Modules cost extra on top, at roughly 10% of the CRM fee for Memberships and Volunteers and 20% for Events, so this is a second modular platform and the add-on arithmetic applies here too. Annual contracts with auto-renewal are the default and reviewers report the renewal terms are easy to miss, and live chat and phone support are reserved for the Empower tier. It rates 4.2 out of 5 on G2, the same score Sumac holds there. See Neon CRM pricing.

Best for: Mid-size nonprofits consolidating several tools who want one vendor, can live with an annual contract, and want membership and fundraising in one suite. If an all-in-one nonprofit platform is the goal, compare the field in our NeonCRM alternatives roundup.

Not ideal for: Anyone leaving Sumac specifically to escape add-on pricing or to get phone support on an entry plan, and small organizations with high revenue, who pay for income rather than records.

4. DonorPerfect

Founded 1981 · Privately held (SofterWare, Inc.) · 200+ employees

DonorPerfect is the mature option, in the market since 1981 and, by its own count, used by more than 50,000 nonprofits. It rates 4.3 out of 5 on G2 and 4.4 on Capterra, matching Sumac’s Capterra score. On donor management it goes deeper than Sumac: Moves Management for major-gift cultivation, batch gift entry, QuickBooks integration and a free AI writing assistant for appeals and thank-you letters. Month-to-month billing is available, so you are not forced into a contract.

Pricing: No longer published. The official page routes to a quote form, and the plans were renamed Core, Plus and Pro across 2025 and 2026. Third-party aggregators, chiefly Capterra, ITQlick and SaaSworthy, report Lite at about $89 to $99/mo for 1,000 records, Express about $159 for 2,500, Essentials about $289 for 7,500 and Premier about $479 for 25,000. Treat all of those as estimates. Donations processed through DonorPerfect Payment Services carry roughly 2.89% plus $0.30. Several features, including QuickBooks, Moves Management and batch gift entry, are gated above the entry tier, which is plan-gating rather than module pricing but has a similar effect on the bill. See DonorPerfect pricing.

Best for: Established nonprofits that used Sumac mainly as a donor database and want two more decades of reporting depth behind the same job. If you are replacing a mature donor database, our DonorPerfect alternatives roundup covers the direct competitors.

Not ideal for: Buyers who want to see a price before a sales call, or anyone who needs case management or a member-facing portal.

5. Little Green Light

Founded 2007 · Independent, bootstrapped · 11-50 employees

Little Green Light is the anti-Sumac on pricing. One subscription covers every feature, with unlimited users, no per-module charges and no platform fee on top of payment processing, and the price is public. It rates 4.8 out of 5 on both G2 and Capterra, the highest scores of any paid platform on this page, and it has been independent and bootstrapped since 2007, so there is no acquisition history to weigh. It is a donor database, deliberately: constituent records, gifts, pledges, soft credits, tributes, acknowledgments and reporting, done well and done cheaply.

Pricing: $45/mo for up to 2,500 constituent records, or $486/yr prepaid with the 10% annual discount, and $60/mo for up to 5,000. Every plan includes every feature and unlimited users, with no contract. Donation processing runs 2.2% plus $0.30 per transaction to the processor, with no LGL fee stacked on top. See Little Green Light pricing.

Best for: Small nonprofits whose Sumac use was essentially donor tracking, who want to cut the bill by an order of magnitude and never think about add-ons again.

Not ideal for: Case management, memberships with a member-facing portal, or events, none of which it does natively. A Sumac customer who used all the modules would be replacing one system with three.

6. Givebutter

Founded 2016 · Growth-equity backed (BVP Forge, $50M in 2024) · 51-200 employees

Givebutter is the answer to the dated-interface complaint. It is the best-looking platform on this list, covers donation forms, fundraising campaigns, events and auctions with mobile bidding, and rates 4.8 out of 5 across more than 900 G2 reviews. Givebutter says more than 50,000 nonprofits use it. The core product is free and funded by optional donor tips, which makes it an unusually low-risk platform to trial alongside Sumac rather than instead of it.

Pricing: Free at the core. With tips enabled there is no platform fee and no processing fee, because Givebutter covers the shortfall under the Givebutter Guarantee introduced in September 2025. With tips disabled it charges a 3% platform fee plus card processing at 2.9% and $0.30. Givebutter Plus is a paid add-on priced on contacts, at $29/mo for 250, $79/mo for 1,000 and $129/mo for 2,500, adding workflow automation, an advanced email editor, SMS and QuickBooks sync. See Givebutter pricing.

Best for: Organizations whose Sumac donations module is the piece they most want to replace, and who want a modern giving experience without a subscription while they decide what to do about the rest.

Not ideal for: Deep constituent management or case management. It has no AI features as of 2026, its automation is rules-based, and it is a fundraising platform rather than a CRM, so on its own it replaces one Sumac module, not the system.

7. CiviCRM

Founded 2005 · Community-governed open source (AGPL v3), no investors · Core team of 7

CiviCRM is the closest functional replacement for Sumac on this page, and the only one besides Salesforce with a real case-management module. CiviCase, CiviMember, CiviContribute, CiviEvent, CiviGrant and CiviMail all run on one database and one contact record, which is precisely the gap reviewers describe between Sumac’s paid modules. The software is free and open source under AGPL v3, community-governed and independent since 2005, so it cannot be acquired and repriced, and it ships monthly, most recently version 6.16 in July 2026. CiviCRM reports more than 14,000 nonprofits using it.

The trade-off is support: it rates 3.9 out of 5 on Capterra across 41 reviews with customer service at 3.3, its weakest score, because support is community-based and documentation is uneven. That is the mirror image of Sumac, whose support is its strongest score.

Pricing: There is no license fee at any scale. Two different buying paths exist and it matters which one you mean. CiviCRM Spark is the official hosted version at $15/mo (Starter, up to 5,000 contacts, unlimited users), $30/mo (Essentials, adds HTML email templates) and $50/mo (Pro, up to 10,000 contacts, custom domain), priced per instance rather than per seat, with a 30-day money-back guarantee and no contract. Self-hosting is free in software and paid in labor: third-party integrators quote managed hosting at roughly $50 to $200 per month and implementation at $2,000 to $10,000 for a small organization, with consultants at $100 to $200 per hour. Third-party aggregators that list CiviCRM as “$11 to $38 per user” are wrong; Spark is per instance. See CiviCRM Spark pricing.

Best for: Organizations that need case management alongside members and donations, want full ownership of their data, and either have technical capacity in-house or are willing to pay an integrator once instead of a vendor every month.

Not ideal for: Anyone who bought Sumac for its phone support and simplicity. CiviCRM’s interface is dated, its learning curve is steep, and when something breaks, the answer is a forum or a consultant rather than a support line.

8. Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud

Founded 1999 · Public company (NYSE: CRM) · 70,000+ employees

Salesforce is the enterprise ceiling, and for a Sumac buyer it is relevant for a specific reason: Nonprofit Cloud covers program and case management alongside fundraising, grants and volunteers on a single data model, so it is the second entry here that does not require giving up case files. Anything you can describe, it can be configured to do, including a member portal through Experience Cloud, and Einstein brings mature AI across the platform. One caveat before you start researching: the Nonprofit Success Pack, still widely referenced in older comparison articles, is no longer the product Salesforce markets. Its page now redirects to Nonprofit Cloud, which is what new customers are sold.

Pricing: The Power of Us program grants 10 free licenses to eligible nonprofits, which is genuinely generous and is why Salesforce appears on small-nonprofit shortlists. Beyond those 10 seats everything is quote-based, and record count is not the meter, so the real cost driver is user seats plus implementation. Budget for a consultant: this is the one platform here that typically cannot be self-implemented. See Salesforce for Nonprofits.

Best for: Large human services organizations with in-house administrative capacity or a consultant budget, who need case management, fundraising and reporting at a scale Sumac was never built for.

Not ideal for: Anyone leaving Sumac for simplicity or for a lower bill. The gap in administrative burden is enormous, and organizations without a dedicated admin routinely stall during implementation.

Sumac alternatives compared

Sumac’s competitors split into three groups: platforms that put everything on one record at one price, donor CRMs that are also modular but publish their module prices, and the two that still do case management. The table sorts them.

Prices as of September 2026 based on published pricing pages. Quote-based figures are ranges from verified customer reports. “Not stated” means we found no primary source and chose not to guess.

ToolOwnershipBest forStarting priceSupportContractMobile appPublic APIAI features
RakletPrivately held, independentMembers, donations and events on one recordFree (100 contacts); $49/mo (500)Email and chat; phone and video a $100/mo add-onMonthly or annualYes, free native iOS and AndroidYes, on PremiumOn the roadmap
Sumac (Societ)Privately held (Societ, formerly Silent Partner Software)Case management with compliance needs$179/mo (1,000 records); modules extraFree live phone and emailNot statedWeb-based caseworker access, no native appNot statedNone shipped
BloomerangPE-backed (JMI Equity, Warburg Pincus)Donor retention analytics$125/mo CRM (about 1,000 records); modules extraEmail, phone and chatAnnualNot statedYesYes, AI Content Assistant
Neon OnePrivately held, multi-brand parentAll-in-one, includes memberships$99/mo Essentials, priced on revenue; modules extraTicket-based; live chat and phone on Empower onlyAnnual, auto-renewingNot statedYes, actively developedYes, Gen assistant in beta
DonorPerfectPrivately held (SofterWare)Mature donor database with deep reportingAbout $89/mo for 1,000 records (estimate)Email and phoneMonth-to-month availableYesYesYes, free AI writing assistant
Little Green LightPrivately held, bootstrapped since 2007All-inclusive donor tracking on a budget$45/mo, or $486/yr prepaid (2,500 records)Email and knowledge baseMonth-to-month, no lock-inNo, browser onlyNot statedNone shipped
GivebutterGrowth-equity backed (BVP Forge)Modern fundraising at no subscription costFree (tip-funded); Plus from $29/moEmail and chatNone on free tierYesYesNone shipped
CiviCRMCommunity-governed open source, no investorsCase management plus members on one open database$0 self-hosted; Spark hosted from $15/moCommunity forums; paid partnersNone (Spark is month-to-month)Not statedYesNone first-party
Salesforce Nonprofit CloudPublic (NYSE: CRM)Enterprise case management and fundraising10 free licenses, then quoteTiered paid support plansAnnualYesYesYes, Einstein

What does each platform cost at your contact count?

Sumac’s base plan includes 1,000 records and sells additional capacity as an add-on, so record count is the natural unit for comparison. Figures are annual and assume the cheapest path to that record count, including annual-billing discounts where offered. Platform and processing fees are excluded because they depend on how much you raise, not how many records you hold. The Sumac row shows the case-management base plan only; every other Sumac module is on top, and the vendor does not publish the record-capacity add-on price, so the two larger columns are marked accordingly.

Prices as of September 2026 based on published pricing pages. Quote-based figures are ranges from verified customer reports.

Platform500 contacts1,000 contacts2,000 contacts5,000 contacts
Sumac (base plan only)$2,148/yr$2,148/yr$2,148/yr + capacity add-on (not published)$2,148/yr + capacity add-on (not published)
Sumac (full stack, reviewer-reported)$6,000 to $7,200/yr (est.)$6,000 to $7,200/yr (est.)$6,000 to $7,200/yr (est.) + capacity$6,000 to $7,200/yr (est.) + capacity
Raklet$588/yr$1,188/yr$1,478/yr$2,348/yr
Bloomerang (CRM only)$1,500/yr$1,500/yrQuote (rises above 1,000)Quote required
Neon One (CRM only)$1,188/yr$1,188/yr$1,188/yr$1,188/yr
DonorPerfect$1,068/yr (est.)$1,068/yr (est.)$1,908/yr (est.)$3,468/yr (est.)
Little Green Light$486/yr$486/yr$486/yr$648/yr
Givebutter$0 core$0 core$0 core$0 core
CiviCRM Spark$180/yr$180/yr$180/yr$180/yr
Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud$0 for 10 seats$0 for 10 seats$0 for 10 seats$0 for 10 seats

Five notes on reading that table honestly:

  1. The Sumac full-stack row is the one that starts most of these searches. It is a reviewer-reported range of $500 to $600 per month, not a list price, because Societ does not publish module prices. If your own invoice is lower, use your invoice.
  2. Raklet is the only paid platform on the list whose price already includes memberships, donations and events. Bloomerang and Neon One show CRM-only figures; their module add-ons go on top, exactly as Sumac’s do, though at published rates.
  3. Neon One is flat across the row because it prices on annual revenue, not record count. The number moves for a reason this table cannot show.
  4. Givebutter shows $0 because it funds itself from donor tips or donation fees rather than a subscription. CiviCRM Spark’s $180 is the hosted tier; self-hosting is free in license and costs whatever your hosting and integrator cost.
  5. Salesforce is free only for the first 10 user seats. Record count is not what drives its bill, and implementation typically is.

Which Sumac alternative is right for you?

Start with one question: do you still need case management? If client intake, case notes and outcome reporting are the center of your work, your list is two platforms long. CiviCRM gives you case management, members and donations on one open-source record for a hosting fee or a one-time integrator bill. Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud does the same at enterprise scale with a consultant budget. Everything else on this page, Raklet included, will make you give up the case files, and no saving on module pricing is worth that if the case files are the mission.

If case management was the module you used least, and the memberships, donations and events add-ons are where the bill and the frustration live, the choice is between one integrated platform and a deeper donor CRM. For one contact record across members, donors and event attendees at one published price with a permanent free tier to test on, that is Raklet. For donor depth, Bloomerang if retention analytics are what you are missing, DonorPerfect if it is reporting and major-gift cultivation, and Neon One if you want memberships inside a revenue-priced suite. All three are worth pricing in full, because two of them are modular too.

If the complaint is simply the bill, Little Green Light does everything a donor database should for $486 a year with no add-ons, and Givebutter replaces the donations module for nothing. Either is a rational first move while you decide about the rest.

One last honest word. Sumac’s support is excellent, its compliance posture is real, and it is privately held with no exit pressure. If the modules you pay for are the modules you use and the data gaps have not bitten you, staying is a defensible decision. If you have already priced the full stack and winced, Raklet’s free plan for 100 contacts costs nothing to try. You can compare Raklet plans and fees or start a free Raklet account and see whether one record for everything does what you need.

Frequently asked questions about Sumac alternatives

What is the best Sumac alternative?

It depends on whether you still need case management. If you do, CiviCRM is the closest functional replacement, with case, membership, donation and grant modules on one open-source record, and Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud is the enterprise version of the same answer. If your Sumac bill is mostly the membership, donations and events add-ons, Raklet puts those three on one contact record at one published price, with a permanent free plan to test on.

How much does Sumac actually cost with all modules?

Sumac’s published starting price is $179 per month for case management with 1,000 records. Donations, memberships, volunteers, grant management and extra record capacity are separate add-ons whose prices Societ does not publish. Reviewers on Capterra report the membership module at about $120 per month and pledges and donations at about $145, and describe totals of $500 to $600 per month for full functionality. Treat those as estimates and check your own quote.

Is there a free Sumac alternative?

Yes. Raklet has a permanent free plan covering 100 contacts with no credit card required, which is a plan rather than a trial, and it includes memberships, donations and events. Givebutter’s core fundraising product is free and funded by optional donor tips. CiviCRM is free to self-host under an open-source license, and Salesforce grants 10 free licenses to eligible nonprofits. Sumac itself has no free plan and no free trial.

What is the cheapest Sumac alternative?

For a hosted platform with everything included, CiviCRM Spark at $15 per month for up to 5,000 contacts and unlimited users is the cheapest paid option here, followed by Little Green Light at $486 per year prepaid for 2,500 records with every feature and no add-ons. Givebutter is free for fundraising. Raklet’s paid plans start at $49 per month for 500 contacts. Its free plan covers 100 contacts.

Is Sumac the same as Societ?

Yes. Sumac is the product name and Societ is the company that sells it. The company was called Silent Partner Software from its founding in 1995 until it rebranded as Societ in January 2024, and sumac.com now redirects to societ.com. A new CEO, Ron Spreeuwenberg, joined in January 2025. If you are searching for Societ alternatives, this page covers the same product.

How long does it take to migrate off Sumac?

For a typical small nonprofit, plan on four to eight weeks, longer than a simple donor database because Sumac data is organized by module and each module’s export needs to be matched back together. Reviewers note that relationship data can be missing from exports and that exporting to Excel is not straightforward, so budget time for cleanup. Raklet, CiviCRM and Little Green Light all import from CSV; Salesforce typically takes months with consultant help.

The bottom line on Sumac alternatives

The best Sumac alternatives solve a specific and well-documented problem: paying $179 a month for a base plan, adding modules until the bill reaches $500 or more, and still finding, as the lowest-rated reviews report, that the modules do not fully share data. Sumac’s support is strong and its compliance credentials are real, which is why organizations stay, but the architecture is why they leave.

If you need to keep case management, CiviCRM is the direct replacement and Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud is the enterprise one. If the membership and fundraising add-ons are the bill you want to stop paying, Raklet puts them on one record at one price, Bloomerang and DonorPerfect go deeper on donors, and Little Green Light and Givebutter cut the cost to almost nothing. Below are comparisons for the Sumac competitors most often shortlisted alongside these.

Best Bloomerang alternatives

If donor retention depth is the real requirement rather than escaping module pricing, this comparison ranks the platforms built around keeping supporters.

See the best Bloomerang alternatives →

Best NeonCRM alternatives

If you want one all-in-one nonprofit platform at mid-market scale rather than a case-management tool with add-ons, this ranks the suites against each other.

See the best NeonCRM alternatives →

Best DonorPerfect alternatives

If you are replacing a mature donor database and care most about reporting depth and migration effort, start with this comparison instead.

See the best DonorPerfect alternatives →

Create your account.
It's free for as long as you need.

Start for free & upgrade only if you need. Card not required.

About Raklet